Topic

Sewing a Quilt Questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sewing a Quilt Questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Joslyn Bloodworth

@joslynb

Locale: Southwest

I'm just getting into MYOG and have done some simple pot and stove things and I got a setup I love. Now I'm looking to see what MYOG can do for my sleep system.

1. My biggest question is about sewing the slick fabrics together. I've made some stuff sacks and what not out of some cheap nylon and had serious issues with getting a straight, un-bunched up seam to the point that I've had to throw a lot of stuff away. I even tried a practice summer quilt out of cheap nylon and syn insulation from JoAnn's, but it got all messed up and doesn't lay flat at all. I'm also having issues with the needle getting all tangled up and stuck so that I have to cut my project out of the machine. Could that be my stitch length and thread tension settings? What are the best settings for nylon-like material? The other idea I had was that it was the quality of my fabrics and once I get the good stuff from a place like Thru-Hiker or Quest, I'll have an easier time of it.

I'm a little concerned it's the quality of my machine since I've been sewing all my life and I've never had this kind of trouble. My current sewing machine was a gift and the cheapest one Singer makes. I'd love a mid line Brother instead but for now what I've got will have to do so I'm really hoping there's something I can do to make up for my machine. What am I doing wrong?

2. I am planning on making either a family quilt and a solo quilt or two solo quilts that will be used in either bug tent/tarp, tarptent, or bivy setups and I can't decide on which fabric to use for the shell. What are some good suggestions and why?