Topic

Backing / AT Newbie / New Pack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Backing / AT Newbie / New Pack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Lucas Csovelak

@ljcsov

Does anyone have any information on this pack?

I am a newbie and purchased this pack perhaps as a overnight/weekend pack. I live in PA and most of the backpacking consists of AT hiking.

My goal: To start out backpacking without excessive weight.

Concern: Is this pack too small? It looks large on the Kelty site but people argue about this volume of pack and what it is good for. I didn't want something monstrous especially because after visiting shelters on day hikes I noticed how small many thru hiker packs were.

::Gear Ideas::
    -Sleeping – Eno Hammock + Tarp
    -Cook Gear – Alcohol Stove, LightMyFire Spork, Bottle Cup, Nalgene
    -Water Purification – Potable Tables, Camelbak 3L
    -Survival- KaBar, Lensatic Compass, Small First Aid Kit
    -Clothing-will need some space for additional clothing, poncho for raingear
    -Hiking Poles- Komperdell Highlander
    -Food- space for 2-3 days food

As you can see, I am TRYING to do an ultra light set up. For the most part, I already own all this gear except for the hammock set up. If this pack is viable, I could possibly be out there doing some overnights in the very near future.

What do you guys think on the pack? Too small? Just right?
    Is there anything I am missing gear wise?

Michael Levine
    Spectator

@trout

Locale: Long Beach

Sorry if I missed it but…. what pack are you referring to?

Also my suggestion is to pack everything in a box that you plan to be in your bag. Calculate the liters of volume in the box. This will give you some feedback as to what you need.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge