Topic

How many nights do you spend outdoors a year?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion How many nights do you spend outdoors a year?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Cesar Valdez

@primezombie

Locale: Scandinavia

Just wondering. I am a full time student and father of one (soon to be two), so for the last year and for the next few years I am only going to be able to do weekend trips at most. I miss the days when I was younger and did week long trips, but what is frustrating is that I didn't discover LW/UL (and soon to be SUL as of next week) until somewhat recently. I believe I would have enjoyed myself even more if I had known about all this back in the day, but I digress…

This year my goal is to sleep 30 nights outdoors camping/backpacking. So far I have put in 12 nights, not too bad, but still a ways to go. Anyone else have a goal like this? Or keep track of how many days you are out?

I know I am setting myself up to be green with envy for you single, no kids, flexible job type people that are able to go on several month long trips a year.

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

Cesar,

When I was young, I did a lot of multi-month trips. But then work and family limited my time somewhat, at least for epic trips. But that does not mean you cannot fit in a lot of little trips.

I did short backpacking trips with my kids, and a lot of family car camping, and then later tent trailer camping. I also got in a lot of little solo trips. Usually 2 – 3 nights and a few of up to a week. At least I was outdoors a lot. Even with 2 kids, we spend about a month outdoors camping as a family, plus my own little trips.

Now the kids are grown and gone, and I am still backpacking.