Topic

My Sub-5 lb kit for SoCal Summers

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists My Sub-5 lb kit for SoCal Summers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Jace Mullen

@climberslacker

Locale: Your guess is as good as mine.

While there may be holes in this most of them are intentional. For example: No Tent for a few reasons. 1.) When using this setup (and because I am a student, thus have flexibility with trips) I can plan around the weather. We really don't get rain here much ever, even less in the summer. Also the bugs arent bad. Also, no toothpaste or toothbrush because this will mostly be used on 2-3 day trips where I will survive without it.

Also, as I plan on usually hiking all day, and not eating where I sleep, I use my WM Flash Jacket as my sole insulating piece.

Without Further Ado:

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=3452

-Jace

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

Locale: Southern California

Jace,

When I look at gear lists, I like to see everything that will be carried on a typical trip with the base gear. For example how long is the typical trip, how much food and water are needed.

I see you have 3 liters in water bottles. Will you be carrying that much water? Probably yes in Southern Cal, but not in the Southern Sierras.

Where will you be hiking? If in the San Bernardinos or Southern Sierras, you usually need some sort of plan for bears… either a hang or canister.

I see you are a student, so some suggestions may not work if you do not have a lot of money to spend of gear. If you do, that is great.

You said 2-3 days. If so, your pack is way too big! You can cut your base by nearly a pound if you switch to a GG Murmur. The Murmur will work fine (as in comfortable) as long as you do not need to carry much water, and you can keep the total pack weight under 10 lbs.