Topic

New ULer for the Northeast

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists New ULer for the Northeast

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    seth mcalister
    BPL Member

@sethmcalister

Locale: New England

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to UL'ing. Been trying to get down there for a little while. This is the majority of my list so far, what do you all think?

Updated to reflect google spreadsheet:

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AnGt-HFlXMN-dGZUaVp3dWFwdmRVaVpLd2x0SlNISUE&hl=en_US#gid=0

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

Just a few observations

Why do you like the thumb straps and have poles too. I am not saying you can’t have both, but it is normally one or the other.

You should lighten or eliminate a lot of clothing. Other than what you are wearing, I might bring a very light sleeping/camp layer and the down hoody.

I recommend going to a knife under an ounce. You don’t need anything more unless you are using a wood stove.

Drop the multitool. They are not needed in a UL kit.

Go with one light or the other, no need for both.

seth mcalister
    BPL Member

@sethmcalister

You know, I was actually thinking about the redundancy of the poles and thumb straps. My poles double as my tent poles. I may look into the benefit of switching directly to tent poles and dropping the hiking poles all together. The last time I was out (pre-UL), I found my hands swelled a bit without my hiking poles.

I actually think I've got some of the lightweight military issue polypro packed away that should be lighter. I probably don't need that for the summer. I'm thinking go to tights and keep the top (lighter than the down hoody).