Topic

~5 days in Yosemite late June, where?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion ~5 days in Yosemite late June, where?

Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Robert L
    Spectator

@beatle

Hi, new member here. I am going to be passing through Yosemite in late June. I am looking for a ~ 5 day backcountry trek, preferably a loop or easy way to get back to my car. I am somewhat new to backpacking, though avid desert hiker (Southern AZ) for many years and have done 3 day solos in the desert where I live. I will be on several ~4 day outings in on the PCT, Sierras, Olympic before getting to Yosemite. That should provide plenty of gear shakedown. Fully loaded, I am at about 27 pounds, but my desert living has me used to carrying 4 liters of water at a time, so likely lighter than that. I am fit, prefer climbs, views, solitude.

Any thoughts? Also, I know that I need to get a permit. Current booked up trails here: https://www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/fulltrailheads.htm

Cheers.

Robert L
    Spectator

@beatle

Realize now that this is a bit dependent upon where my wilderness permit ends up being. I just submitted my request. Once that comes in, I will provide more details.

Alex Wallace
    BPL Member

@feetfirst

Locale: Sierra Nevada North

If you haven’t been before, I recommend starting in the Valley because despite all the people (which are easy to get away from), it really is an amazing place. Once you park, it’s a really convenient jump off point too.