Topic

What’s on your feet?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) What’s on your feet?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Christopher Chupka

@fattexan

Locale: NTX

My footwear with a pack on has been my La Sportiva Glaciers, summer, or Lhotses, Winter.

I am getting my pack weight down to about 25lbs. I have been eyeballing the Montrail D7. I have my old Mountain Masters but they soak up water like a sponge and are a little wide and sloppy for a sustained day on the trail.

The problem is I am about 220lbs, so I need something fairly protective. I get a little clumsy towards the end of the day, so I’m worried about ankle protection.

Any ideas?

J R

@ravenul

More important than any other factor – even weight – is fit. Ive found that Merrell’s tend to fit my feet perfectly. They also come in a plethora of variants for each shoe series. Example, the Reactor series has models that are low top, mid top, mesh uppers, gore-tex, sandals, whatever… even mocs and slides.

So.. summer or winter, I wear Merrells with Smartwool.

If Merrells fit your feet, youll probably find one that fits your needs (including ankle support).

HTH

Christopher Chupka

@fattexan

Merrels are a bit to wide for my feet. I understand about the fit. My boots are La Sportiva ’cause of my skinny feet. There boots are indestructible but I have had ther light weight shoes fall apart on me. The Montrails fit well, I need to know about their experience with the support of lightwieght shoes.

Anyone have scary ankle twists with shoes versus boots? That’s what makes me nervous. My feet are also sensitive to rocks under the forefoot and good stiff lightweight shoe experience?

Kenneth Gurney

@drunkenblade