Topic

Rain gear as part of the sleep system

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Rain gear as part of the sleep system

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Peter Zahirsky
    Spectator

@pkz19

Locale: Northeast Ohio

Okay, so I am not new to backpacking, but I am new to lightweight backpacking. Eventually, I'd like to make it to ultralight. Any way, one of the biggest things I see is that you should use all the clothes you carry, incorporating them into your sleep system. This is fine, but what do people do if it's actually raining? Stop early to set up shelter and let the rain gear dry before getting into your bag/quilt? I assume wet rain clothes would wet out a down bag pretty seriously. Should rain gear be that one set of clothing that is extra and carried just in case?

Tony Wong
    BPL Member

@valshar

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

Yes, for me, it is just and extra layer of clothing, but not part of my core clothing system that I use to gauge how "low" of a temperature can I push my sleeping system.

Would never sleep in my wet rain gear, but if I was freezing my butt off and the rain gear was dry, I would definetly put it on as an extra layer of clothing for warmth.

I normally carry a garbage bag in my pack as a multi purpose pack liner or for something to place my wet gear in so that it does not get my other dry gear dirty or wet.

Clothing wise:

My emergency clothing is my BPL merino wool top and bottoms for next to skin base layer, which I only use when I am in camp, sleeping, or if it is really cold.

BPL Merino Hoody is my base layer/next to skin layer that I hike in.

Monbell Thermawrap Jacket as my insulation layer

Wind shirt as another layer

Rain Gear as my possible last layer for insulation.