Topic

Canon s95 v. DSLR

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Canon s95 v. DSLR

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    David Passey

@davidpassey

Locale: New York City

I'm a camera/photography newbie, having viewed photographs as a afterthought for many years.

But this site has inspired me to do a better job recording my trips. With that in mind, I'm considering a high end point and shoot, such as the Canon s95. Everything I've read indicates that for landscape shooting a camera like the s95 is just as good as a DSLR ("it's not the camera, it's the photographer" is a common refrain.) But I'm suspicious of that advice.

I'm very impressed with the photography in the recent Iceland trip report posted on this site. Those photos were taken with a DSLR. For those of you more expert than me, could the same person, standing in the same places at the same times have taken the same photos with a Canon s95 instead?

If not, I'm curious to know the source of the difference, or perhaps be directed to good material to educate myself further.

Rick Dreher
    BPL Member

@halfturbo

Locale: Northernish California

Hi David,

A couple things to consider when comparing are lens choice and imager size. High-end compacts like the S95 et al have chips roughly between a quarter and an eighth the size of a dslr/mirrorless system body. This puts them at a disadvantage WRT noise and high-iso performance. There are also depth-of-field and diffraction limits that creep in–these may not be an issue, depending on the photographer's goals.