Topic

Job

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Michael Levine
    Spectator

@trout

Locale: Long Beach

Here's an odd one. So I have a job. 9-5. I've been working it for four years. I've been a good employee, I work hard, I do my job right, from my perspective at least. My last performance review was 5/5 across the board.

I ask for 10 days of unpaid leave, in addition to the 10 days of paid leave I have saved, in order to do the JMT. About a year and a half ago I had enough paid leave to take 3 weeks off to go to europe during our most busy time, they let me. We had a staff of two back then, now we have a staff of four, and it's during our slowest time of the year.

I was turned down. I got the usual rundown, "well, I pushed for it, but I'm told it's policy to only allow unpaid leave for medical reasons, or bereavement, things like that. My boss turned it down, but, wait, dont put it on her either, she made a phone call and it was turned down. It's just policy".

I'm asking to take the vacation I've earned, as well as combining it with asking to not be paid or expected to work for 10 work days while we have way less to do and less staff…

I asked if there was anything I could do. I was told no. I said that it is the low time, we have more staff, and I'm asking not to be paid for two weeks during a budget crisis. I was told it's still a no.

Honestly I'm in a bit of a tizzy. I feel let down. I feel undervalued. I feel angry. I've cleared my personal files off of my computer and personal items from my desk.