Topic

Route Finding, UTM, and NatGeo Topo Question

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Route Finding, UTM, and NatGeo Topo Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

First of all, I'm new to this. It started as an exercise to see whether or not a GPS will be useful for some canyon country route finding.

I go NG Topo for Utah, build a waypoint from a trip report UTM route table, that should pinpoint at specific point in a canyon, (which I have personally visited and know the topography) and find the waypoint is 100 meters south and 200 meters east of where it should be.

The difference is between a point on the canyon floor and a point on the rimrock. You could Not get to that UTM location from the bottom. Someone taking a fix from the site, is forced to being pretty darn close.

I checked a few other points, like the confluence of two streams, from other sources, and found similar discrepancies.

Is this a TOPO issue?
    Operator (me) error?
    False expectations?

Suggestions?

Edit: I'm using NAD 27

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Greg, NAD 27 versus the more standard 1983-1984 datums will build some problems. Typically, the original recorder might have done a good job, but then they used the wrong datum, or they reported no datum at all. That is about the amount of discrepancy that you get off mismatched datums. In some terrain, that is enough that you would recognize it and compensate. In some other terrain, you might not recognize it until you were already in trouble.