Topic

Newbie to UL (or maybe just L) 1st gear list for summer VA AT hike.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie to UL (or maybe just L) 1st gear list for summer VA AT hike.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Tim Cleary

@hempstead

Locale: Lost

Here is my 1st full attempt at a 4 week summer AT section hike thru central VA and MD hopefully. As a newbie I feel decent about it but really wanted to get some ideas.

I have never attached images before so here goes below. If I see it is garbled I will edit and try again.

Main questions:

What am I missing?
    Yes, I know my pack is really heavy but I like it a lot. Any other suggestions for shaving weight?

part 1part 2

Tad Englund
    BPL Member

@bestbuilder

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Tim, here's my quick glance:

Pack cover- nix you have a liner

Dump the hydration bladder, hoes and Nalgene and you save over 1/2 a pound, add another 1 oz pep bottle instead

nix the extra briefs and use the extra shorts

nix the camp shoes

Nix the drysacks that is what the pack liner is for. You can use a lighter option for food- like a plastic grocery bag.

I'm not big on electronics in the backcountry so I'd say nix it but that is a personal thing.

good luck, enjoy

James Neal

@laien

Locale: Ozarks

This isn't going to save any weight, but I alway like to carry a couple of benadryl tabs. It is nice to have for any type of allergic reaction. Might even save your life.

Jim Neal RN

David Drake
    BPL Member

@daviddrake

Locale: North Idaho

Pretty sure you've overestimated some of the weights and/or made typos. For example, a beanie won't weigh 10 oz. 2 mini Bics are only 1 oz total. Your FAK and essentials total seems high as well.