Topic

PCT 2011 First Gear List Ever

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists PCT 2011 First Gear List Ever

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Joshua Thomas

@jdthomas

Locale: SE Michigan

Hello Everyone,
    I am leaving for the PCT on May 15th ( 4 weeks)and I still have a lot of shopping to do. I could really use some help on recommending gear as it is getting closer than comfort and I need to get this gear ready for my trip. I am extremely new to backpacking and would love to hear from you all. As you can see there is still a lot of gear that I need.
    So far I think thats 5 pounds of gear listed and I am not looking to be a SUL backpacker. I would like to stay under 10 pounds if I can. As far as backpacks are concerned I have been looking at the ULA Ohm, and also a pack called the HMG Windrider ( I am worried about a bear can for both these packs). I could really use some help on this and any other recommendations. I am planning to buy a 2L platypus and I have two Nalgene bottles, but they are pretty heavy and i am not sure what to do there. The big areas of need are in clothing and in a medical kit. If anyone has a medical kit built for something like a PCT I would be interested in hearing what I need. Of course I will be buying a toothbrush/ deodorant, etc. at a local walmart as these items I don't need to have shipped,etc.

I look forward to your help in planning/ Thanks for the help.
    Here is my gear list

Packing-
    None ( I was told to buy this last)

Shelter-
    Zpacks Hexamid + Beak / Cuben Stuff Sack 9.1 oz
    Vargo 6" Ti Sheperd Hook X 10 2 oz
    Zpacks Cuben Ground Sheet 3.6 oz
    Zpacks Cuben Stake Sack .07 oz

Sleeping-
    Jdempsey Variable Quilt 18 oz
    Large NeoAir 19 oz

Cooking-
    Evernew 1.3L Ti Pot 4.6 oz
    Caldera Ti-Tri Sidewinder 1.3 oz