Topic

Down quality

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Down quality

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Mark Dijkstra

@markacd

Can someone tell me how much the difference is for down measured with the European norm and the American norm? For example: how much would 800 cuin EU be in the American standard? I've read all sorts of things. Some people even say that there can be a difference of 100 cuin between the 2 standards.

I've also heard that the really high down values lose their volume quite fast (850+ cuin is quickly reduced to 750 cuin). Is this true? Is the durability of these high cuin downs worse than those with a lower rating?

Mark Dijkstra

@markacd

No-one?

James Marco
    BPL Member

@jamesdmarco

Locale: Finger Lakes

Well, I will take a stab at it, but I am not an expert.

Without getting all technical, which I cannot do because down varies from year to year, bird to bird, etc., EU ratings are based on a maximum fill power of 800, with a maximum insulating value of 900. These are two different measurments.

American fill values are based on a maximum of 900.

I am not sure if the tests are exactly the same, soo, there is a minor discrepency.

Fill is far easier to test than insulating value.

Eider down is considerd the best. This duck plucks only the fully mature down feathers for it's nest. After the eggs are hatched, it abandons the nest. These are collected for down.
    It is rated at 900 in both systems. Even though it will only loft to 800 in EU measurments.