Topic

cat can stove at altitude

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion cat can stove at altitude

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Travis Butler

@sherpaxc

I'm going to be doing a thru-bike of the Colorado Trail this summer. I have a lot of experience with using a super cat stove, but none at altitude. How well does it work at around 10k feet? I'll only need it to boil around 2 cups of water or so at a time.

Obviously wind will factor into it so I'll take that into account.

Thanks for the help.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

14,000' isn't a problem, provided as you mention, you have a dialed windscreen.

Do be aware that the boiling point at 10,000' is around 190°F, so depending on your food, you may have to adjust your cooking and/or soaking times.

Scott S

@sschloss1

Locale: New England

I've used my supercat up to 11,500' and in 30+ mph winds without any problems. Definitely take a windscreen–you'll have trouble getting a boil without one.

Travis Butler

@sherpaxc

What pots are ya'll using? I so want to use the ti cup, but it just doesn't get a good boil do to the low surface area.

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

I'm a Caldera Cone Keg-H user, so not relevant to your situation.

But, I'd look at your windscreen – holes in the bottom, tight at the top.

Scott S

@sschloss1

Locale: New England

I use a 1300 mL Evernew ti pot. I get a boil in 5 minutes almost every time. And, like Greg said, I use a windscreen with holes at the bottom.

Eric Blumensaadt
    BPL Member

@danepacker

Locale: Mojave Desert

The best "windscreen" I know of is a Caldera Cone. It may take your Cat Can but comes with an alky stove and Gram Cracker ESBIT holder. The CC is the most efficient setup I've seen for alcohol and ESBIT.

Chris S