Topic

UL OR SUL MYOG switch (help meee!)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear UL OR SUL MYOG switch (help meee!)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    nico brilmyer
    BPL Member

@niconotori

I need help from all you amazing makers of gear to find the perfect UL or SUL shelter and/or quilt.

"I am still pretty new to all this.. my current set up is a Nemo Meta 2p and a WM antelope.
    I like the Meta but even with maximum ventilation it is moist on mornings.. i feel it probably performs as well as a good tarptent, but it was $350 and tarptents as a general rule seem to be cheaper if purchased second hand etc… I would like to find a tarptent or any other UL shelter that fits 2 people because it seems the difference in weight between 1 and 2 people UL shelters is small. If the difference is a big one though ( 1.5 lb.+) then i will probably go with a 1 man.

I like the antelope, but it is too warm for me, so i figured on selling it for a 20 degree bag.. Then i figured i might as well try for a quilt as it also seems a viable sleeping option and saves weight."

If any of you know of someone, or happen to be that someone who can help me; please let me know =)

THANK YOU!!!!

-Nico

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

The Backpacking Light Stealth NANO Ultralight Backpacking Tarp is pretty good

You could make something like that in Cuben or silnylon

I currently use a silnylon version, only on the front I have a beak with a zipper to prevent rain from blowing in.

Zipper open:

tarp

nico brilmyer
    BPL Member

@niconotori

Hey Jerry thanks for your post! Did you make that following bpl's pattern or is it the bpl model in silnylon?

would it be cheaper to myog? $320 for a tarp seems kinda steep!
    Thanks!

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton