Topic

Canon S95 Users / Trip Advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Canon S95 Users / Trip Advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Joshua Thomas

@jdthomas

Locale: SE Michigan

Hello Everyone,
    This is my first time here on the photo side of this forum ; So a big hello to you guys. The reason being is that I have never done really any photography of any kind and I recently bought a Canon S95. I went to India this last fall and tried it out and I mostly just used the auto settings due to my extreme lack of experience. All that being said I need some helpful tips as I am going to be thru-hiking the PCT coming up here two months from now. The real questions that I have are about what settings you recommend for outdoor landscape pictures like the mountains I will be around. Also how to capture good low light pictures for the sunrise and big sky's I will be seeing. There are several modes and from what I have read the P settings is the most popular. If you are willing give me some help on how to setup my camera for this trip.
    Also, I am going to be taking Ti goat poles witch have the option of a camera mount. On the other side of the coin I have been looking at the Gorilla-pod; Any recommendations between the two?
    Last but not least I need some wisdom on how do you guys pack your S95? Do you use a case? Bubble wrap ( I have heard) do you have some kinda dry bag? Also what size memory card and how many spare batteries?
    I currently have the Lowepro – Santiago 20 Camera Case / 2 batteries total and a 8G memory card. I am looking forward to your help. I want to capture the best pictures I can while im out there with my limited experience. Thanks again! Bless you.

Landon Schrock
    BPL Member

@lschrock

Locale: Ozarks

Two options I have tried for my S95 as far a case..