Topic

travel arrangements for backpacking

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips travel arrangements for backpacking

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    brett smith

@bretts545

i'm from Ohio and planning a trip to backpack in Oregon. what i'm curious about is how i would go about traveling with my pack loaded. i might also be bringing my daypack so i can hit the coast and relax for a day/night on the beach and just get a hotel room and maybe hit up a couple small hikes on the coast.

So if i load my pack down can it possibly be a carry on? i wouldn't think so. but maybe?

the other things i'm wondering are food/liquids….can i have food stored already and my toiletries? i know there are some rules about bottled liquids but i'm no expert traveller as i've never even flown in a commerical jet. only a small prop plane.

thanks ahead for any help.

Brett

brett smith

@bretts545

didn't mention this either:

fuel…and my jetboil….can i really bring that on a plane? it seems like there is no way they'd let me fly with that

CW
    BPL Member

@simplespirit

Locale: .

If you can fit the liquids in to the TSA specified size container(s), you can probably carry them. The stove will be ok, but not the fuel. Trekking poles are also generally not allowed in a carry-on. I just check mine rather than deal with potential hassle.

brett smith

@bretts545

So do you just buy fuel wherever you go to?

CW
    BPL Member

@simplespirit

Locale: .

Yep

brett smith

@bretts545

thanks for your help

so i guess dried foods are fine to have in there?

L Miller

@lmiller

Locale: Maryland

Another option is to ship Fedex/UPS. If you ship ground, you can include fuels, etc.