Topic

Gear Patterns

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Gear Patterns

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Marla Sharp

@khiorihotmail-com

Okay, I’ve got a stupid question–where do you get patterns for making things like your own sleeping bag/quilt, tarps, and other gear? I’m new to this stuff.

Mike Storesund

@mikes-1

I’m new to “making” my own gear too. Right now I am interested in making a quilt, so that has been my primary focus. I have been to: http://www.rayjardine.com/index.shtml to look at the kits they offer.
    I also have been investigating books listed at:
    http://www.backpacking.net/makegear.html
    This link has a generic pattern for a quilt:
    http://www.newsushi.net/quilt.html
    So there are many resources out there. Probably as many as their are opinions on how to make them.
    Good luck :O)

Dane Burke

@dane

Locale: Western Washington

I just finished my first “real” sewing project last night, a hat kit purchased from Ray Jardine’s website. I also bought his quilt kit, which is in the mail, and I hope to finish that about mid-April. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Jay Ham

@jham

Locale: Southwest

Backpacking Light IS the right place to find how-to articles for making your own gear; well almost. :)

We now have a section editor for the MYOG section and will be ramping up this section this year. Too early to give away too many details. We will eventually cover everything from top bags, tarps, stoves, etc., and hope to provide the tools necessary to produce high end gear.

I am working on an alcohol stove how-to article to compliment our recent review of alcohol stoves. Although it might take us a little while to ramp up to the more complicated projects, I am interested in what readers would like to see. Comments?

Thanks,
    Jay Ham
    MYOG SE

Dane Burke