Topic

Muddy Mountain Stomp on the Backbone Trail

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Muddy Mountain Stomp on the Backbone Trail

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Thomas

@caramelmarx

Locale: Southern California

Took a three day weekend to my advantage and ran up to the Backbone Trail in the Santa Monica Mountains north of Malibu, CA. Its really a dayhiking trail but the Backbone is just 60 miles of dayhiking trails stitched together, and it's a good ol' time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WNk-5Je9ikg

I took a walk up Santa Ynez canyon up to the Musch campground on a rainy Saturday afternoon. The next day I hiked up to the Topanga overlook via the Hondo Canyon Trail and then turned around and came back for another night at Musch, a really nice campground there in Topanga State Park.

I'm new to backpacking but I have gotten a lot lighter thanks to the forums here, I was carrying an Ohm backpack with a Lunar Solo and some 20deg REI sleeping bag I got at a used gear swap. Thanks for coming along with me on the trip. My next goal is to lighten my clothing and cooking setups, because one thing I learned on this trip is that cotton is seriously the worst thing you can wear when it's raining out.

edit: grammar

Eugene Smith
    BPL Member

@eugeneius

Locale: Nuevo Mexico

Matthew,

Dude, loved it! You got style. I'm glad you posted another vid, I remember you posting one sometime back.

The leather boots and jeans you were rocking were by and far the highlight of that video for me…. classic. Seeing someone get out on an impulse, enjoying the outdoors the way they want to, listening to the coyotes, stomping in the mud, and mixing up the routine of regular day to day life is what it's all about.

"I feel a little mist, I feel a little penetration going on there…"