Topic

Charlotte Area Hikers?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Charlotte Area Hikers?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Locale: North Carolina

Howdy. I just moved to Charlotte, NC. I'm hoping to start doing some trips in the spring once I've gotten settled in a bit more. I lived in Asheville a few years ago so I'm somewhat familiar with hikes in that general area – I figure I'll be going west for most of my trips. Anyway, if anyone has any trip recommendations I'd love to hear them. Also, it would be great to meet up with some folks for trips as well, or even just for a beer sometime. Always glad to meet new people in a new city. Thanks in advance for any info. Have a good one.

James S

@hikinnc

I'm new to Charlotte too (moved from CA, got here in September), me and my girlfriend are new to backpacking. We're not able to do much hiking at this point but perhaps we'll share a trail some day.

Thinking about checking out Crowder's mountain tomorrow, actually.

Welcome.

Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Locale: North Carolina

James,

Thanks for the reply. I've heard about Crowder and definitely want to check it out. If you head out there it would be cool to get a report on the area. Do keep in touch about any trips and I'll do the same. Feel free to PM.

Brad Fisher
    Spectator

@wufpackfn

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains

Nathan

I live about 45 minutes outside Charlotte. Some of the best local backpacking is Uwharrie national forest. However I do most of my backpacking trips in the mountains.

Brad Rogers a regular on this site runs a great Facebook page and does backpacking trips twice a month. the group is southern Appalachian backpacking light.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=228683055956

Brad

James S

@hikinnc

Headed there tomorrow morning.

Brad Rogers