Topic

Snowshoeing with a dog – are the Ruff Wear Bark’n Boots any good

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Snowshoeing with a dog – are the Ruff Wear Bark’n Boots any good

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Dave .
    BPL Member

@ramapo

I'm relatively new to dog ownership (as an adult at least) and I'm wondering what those of you who snowshoe with your dogs do to protect their paws from the cold. I've been doing some short (5-8 mile) training trips with my Australian Cattle Dog and, on the last trip, I noticed a few times where he seemed to be suffering a bit from cold paws (favoring a leg temporarily – then another). This was right after a lunch break, so we were lucky in that he was okay after we got moving again and got our temps back up. Still…made me think I might have been irresponsible to take him out in 12 degree weather.

I got some Bark'n Boots today. Not sure they fit too well. But I'm also not sure he'll hike in them if they did fit any better…or that they'd help if he did.

Looking for some advice from those of you who are experienced with cold weather dog hikes and paw protection.

Thanks.

tyler marlow

@like-sisyphus

Locale: UTAH

I don't have experience with cold weather but when my dog used the Ruff Wear boots she hated it and so did I.

When i first put them on her she was high steppin' trying to step out of them, totally hilarious but probably embarrassing for her. Once we started hiking they would not stay on, about every 10 minutes one would fall off. I am pretty sure they were the right size too, i dont think they could have been any smaller.