Topic

Yet Another Steripen Thread – OR – Which Steripen?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Yet Another Steripen Thread – OR – Which Steripen?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Tom B

@tomhiker

I've decided to try a Steripen but am unsure of the model. I have no experience with any of the models, I have read most of the reviews and did a forum search. I've read about the problems but I think the possible benefits can outweigh the issues if the primary benefit (to me) which is ease of use can be instantiated. I'm open to any recommended model but I think the two most likely choices are the Journey (the one with the LCD display) and the Adventurer Opti.

Anyhow here's where I'm at, thanks for any advice or comments on the following:

Journey:
    Pros
    Containers: It's round where it fits into the container so you can fill a bottle, insert the Steripen and invert to sterilize. You can use lightweight bottles such as Aquafina (and I assume others). This sounds good to me as that is what I typically carry. This ease of use made the Journey my first choice.
    UI: LCD provides end of cycle feedback info. (Is this better or worse than user feedback of Opti? )
    Cost: Not a driving factor but is less expensive then Opti.

Cons
    Battery drain: Then I read the Opti review and it mentioned the older Adventurer drains batteries when off. Is that a problem with the Journey?? This issue could kill the Journey choice. I read the multiple posts on the Steripen and there was lots of discussion on battery issues. So do all the older models including the Journey LCD have this issue? I don't want to moving batteries in an out every time I use this thing. I couldn't tell if this was just an issue with the older Adventurer and not the Journey LCD.

Opti

Is the following "Pro" for the Opti correct?