Topic

daily calories

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Trevor J

@littlebuf

first post here and though im a avid back country hunter im relatively new to backpacking, doing mostly day hikes from a base camp. this year im going to start staying in the back country. from everything ive read it seems 4000 calories a day seems to be about the standard for physical back country living. i would love to hear from some of you experts as to the best way you've found to obtain this. thanks

Trevor J

@littlebuf

no one has any knowledge they want to share huh?

Anonymous
    Inactive

"no one has any knowledge they want to share huh?"

Hi Trevor,

I don't think it a matter of not wanting to share the information. Most likely it's backcountry diet fatigue. I know that is the case for me. The subject has been discussed pretty thoroughly in numerous threads here over the past 3-4 years. Probably your best bet would be to do a search on calories, diet, etc and see what you come up with. I'll bet if you get the search arguments right, you'll probably come up with more information on the subject than you probably have time or desire to read.

Ben Crowell

@bcrowell

Locale: Southern California

On short trips, most people eat about 15-20 calories per day per pound of body weight. This may be far too low for long through hikes, where you can't stay in calorie debt, and for extremely strenuous hikes (25-30 miles/day) in cold weather.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge