Topic

MYOG Pyramid

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG Pyramid

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Chris Roane
    BPL Member

@chrisroane

Locale: North Rockies

Hi,

So I am going to make a larger version of this shelter: http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/myog_silnylon_floorless_2-person_tent.html . It is going to be around 10×10 and taller than the example, so I can fit 4 people comfortably.

I am new to MYOG, and I know this is going to be a big project for an amateur. However, I plan on making several other things out of silnylon to get some experience using the material. I already ordered 25 yards of silnylon from noahlamport.com (for $103). I'll learn what I need to learn to make this happen.

But before I get started, there are a few things that I am not sure about that I couldn't find on searching:

1. The article I reference above recommends making a catenary curve on each side. Considering that I am new to this type of thing, would this be necessary? I am willing to learn how to do it, I just don't know if it will be worth the extra time. I'm planning on having stake tieouts in the middle of each side for the shelter.

2. I am going to attach perimeter netting to the bottom of the shelter (NoSeeum Black: http://www.owfinc.com/Fabrics/mesh&netting.asp ). What I am not sure on is how to attach the mesh to the silnylon (it is 1.1 oz coated nylon)? Also, how would I connect multiple pieces of netting to each other? I guess I am just not sure of this aspect because I have never seen this before.

3. I'm pretty sure that the 61.25 inch height of the pyramid in the article is going to be not tall enough to fit 4 guys with gear. With a 10×10 shelter, how tall would you make this shelter? I'm thinking 6 feet tall (I will use two attached trekking poles).