Topic

Trekking Poles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trekking Poles

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Ryan C
    BPL Member

@radio_guy

Locale: United States

Trekking poles. Pretty basic but I have no experience with them and am pretty overwhelmed with what is available out there. They would be used for two purposes: to help me hobble along especially when my bad knee acts up, and secondly to function as a shelter support.

What I am looking for is a good all around pair that are a decent balance between lightweight and ruggedness. I am really trying to get gear that will serve me well for all types of activity rather than having one for this and another for that. I would be using the poles everywhere from the Appalachians to the Rockies, from the depths of the Grand Canyon to mountainous tundra of Alaska (coming up this summer!), to a possible thru-hike in the near future.

I have considered Gossamer Gear LT4s but get the impression that they may not be rugged enough for my intended use and possibly a little fragile.

Is antishock worth the extra expense?

Do speedlocks work better over time compared to twist locks, such as slippage?

Any titanium models out there anyone would recommend?

EDIT: They need to be retractable and very compact for travel use as well.

Ken K

@thefatboy

Locale: St. Louis

If you've never used them, you dont know if you'll like them. Some people can't live without them. Some people hate them altogether. Start with a cheap set like the $19 pair from Walmart. You'll be carrying an extra pound, but a weekend or two with those will tell you if it's worth springing for a good set.

josh wagner

@stainlesssteel

he is very wise. best advise you'll get concerning this topic

Matthew Zion

@mzion

Locale: Boulder, CO

Antishock is a BS marketing ploy.