Topic

Layering Sleeping Bags/Quilts

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Layering Sleeping Bags/Quilts

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Chris Hanson

@chrishanson

Locale: Eastern Wyoming

I was brainstorming a colder weather sleeping system for ground camping in winter.

Generally it is cold and wet here (30s and rain) but we do get several weeks of weather that is dry and cold (teens to single digits). I want to do some hiking/camping during this time in our mountains. (I live in SE AK at sea level so I'd be at 2500ft or so max)

I have a synthetic 15 degree bag and several down quilts. It is my understanding that for weather conditions where condensation would be an issue you are supposed to put the down next to you and the synthetic on the outside. Since I have a bag, what would the ramifications be if I layered the down quilt over the bag? Would I want to use a bivy too or would that compress everything and be counter productive.

My winter camping to this point has been limited to hammock camping with an underquilt/pad/sleeping bag arrangement.

Thanks,

Chris

PS. If Santa deems that I have been good, he may bring me a synthetic quilt but I'm not holding my breath!

Michael Williams

@mlebwill

Locale: Colorado

There was just a thread about this in Gear section. The issue was condensation in the down, if I remember correctly.

and I did – took me a while – but here is the thread.

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=39299

Doesn't sound like it is something I would want to try.

Mike

Chris Hanson

@chrishanson

Thanks, I didn't come up with that thread when I searched.

jim bailey
    BPL Member

@florigen

Locale: South East

Did some testing with this a few years back when i lived in NE.