Topic

MYOG Pack – Torso Size?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear MYOG Pack – Torso Size?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Locale: North Carolina

Hey there. I'm looking to make myself a pack that will be heavily based on Jay Ham's 5 Yards to SUL Pack – just some different materials and a few additions. My question is how do I make a pack like this fit my specific torso size? Is 'torso length' as commonly measured (iliac crest to #7 vert) the distance between where each end of the straps connect to the pack? Maybe this is a dumb question but I'm new to the MYOG scene. Any help would be mighty fine. Thanks!

Steve Small

@lustreking

I could be wrong, but I don't think that torso size is important if you don't have a hip belt.

Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Steve, thanks for the reply. I should've mentioned that a hipbelt is one of the things I'm planning to add to the pack.

Ron Bell / MLD
    BPL Member

@mountainlaureldesigns

Locale: USA

The measurements for a frameless and a framed pack differ – and various pack makers offer slightly different info on how to measure for thier packs anyway.

For a myog frameless pack I suggest building the pack with a measure from where the shoulder straps connect to the pack measured to the bottom of the pack- or to the bottom of where any hipbelt connects to the pack.

S= 18" 5'5- 5'8
    M=20" 5'9 – 6'
    L= 22" over 6'

These general measurements seem to fit most people and more than a few LW no frame pack mfgrs including MLD size their packs very close to this.

Idea is with the pack very lightly fully loaded- the shoulder straps are right at or 1" below the shoulder and the bottom of the pack/hipbelt lands about 1" below top of hipbone.