Topic

Another New Zealand Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Another New Zealand Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Becca Levin

@blsocal

Hi folks,

I'd greatly appreciate some advice. I'm no lightweight expert, but I'd certainly like to pack less rather than more for an upcoming 3month trip to New Zealand, followed by 3 mo in Asia.

I'll definitely be bringing some form of shelter/tent. I've got a very beaten REI 2 person tent I could bring, but it is fairly bulky and heavy. Its a great tent if two are splitting the bulk/weight, but i'll likely be doing some solo stuff. If I find hiking partners with other tents or end up in the huts frequently, its something i could definitely jettison for the rest of my RTW travels. Alternatively, I could invest in a lighter, smaller 1person ( possibly tarptent) for the trip as a back up for full huts. I'd rather not go the bivy and tarp route, as i am more comfortable using them and they offer bug protection. It'd be nice to have something that is fine for one and (very) tight for two. I'd prefer not to spend lots, but will if its going to make life much better.

Any advice on tents or other super necessary gear for NZ would be greatly appreciated!

Clint Felmingham
    BPL Member

@sef

Depends where you're going :)

If you're planning on mainly sticking to well established tracks, or plan your walks around them, the hut system in NZ is very good. You could get away with only carrying a fly for emergencies.

As far as tents go… most locals carry bombproof (heavier) gear made by Macpac, WE, etc. If you want to be able to camp almost anywhere on the tops in bad weather, follow their example. A single skin ul tent can be pretty miserable on the west coast or in fiordland.

But you'll survive.