Topic

Help Inspire; Titanium

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Help Inspire; Titanium

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Travis Helton

@tj_hiker

Locale: Pacific NorthWest

Hey all, Im fairly new around here, as you may have noticed, so most of you probably do not know I am a machinist. I work in a small shop with all kinds of materials and lately, work has been slow. Ive had time to do all kinds of projects of my own, and now, Id like to focus on creating a lightweight backpacking "item".

What Id like to know is, if you could have any metal item in your closet or backpack made lighter, what would it be" We have a surplus of scrap Titanium so Id like ides and inspirations. Let me know if ya think of something.

Im currently using CAD to draw up a light weight, collapsible stove but would like some more ideas. Thanks!

Adam Kramer
    BPL Member

@rbeard

Locale: ATL, Southern Appalachia

seemed like 20 or so titanium trowels sold in a few days here this week…

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=38134

. .
    BPL Member

@biointegra

Locale: Puget Sound

This is what I have been pondering for a while:

A mug/pot with a liquid-tight screw-on Ti lid and internal silicone or ABS sippy lid – think a thermos with a wide mouth, but with only a single-wall of thin titanium. A removable food-grade 4mm thick EPS foam cozy of 2 equal sized parts that would also function as cups would go around the whole thing to insulate and protect in the pack.

Target weight = <4 oz. for the package
    Target voume = 600ml-800ml

Thus you have a mug (or 3-4 mugs depending on lid depth), a water bottle, a thermos, and a UL cook pot + cozy for freezer-bag meals.

food jar

Eric Lundquist
    BPL Member

@cobberman

Locale: Northern Colorado