Topic

Yellowstone in Winter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Yellowstone in Winter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Tyler Craft

@tylerc083

Hello!

I am a newbie here. So, while I have been reading these forums and researching them, I thought I'd post in hopes of getting some solid detailed responses.

My wife and I love to travel and hike. Earlier this year we were in RMNP, this November we'll be in Big Sur. For 30+ degree hikes, we are set.

This January though, we are going to go to Yellowstone. We are staying at the old faithful snow lodge, and plan on doing some snow shoeing (maybe some cross country skiing, too). We've never hiked in cold snowy weather before. So, we are unprepared as far as clothing – and while we have read a ton of information online, it can be sort of confusing. At this point I think I'm at information overload.

So, long story short, I'm here to get advice on what to hike/wear in yellowstone in the winter. We won't be camping, we'll be coming back to a cabin each night.

I will be carrying a camera (a Mamiya 7 medium format, i've read some reviews of people having success with that camera in yellowstone in the winter, just have to get an external battery holder), but other than that we'll just have what people here recommend.

Also, while hiking in cooler weather I layer up under a The North Face Hooded Venture Jacket while my wife has a Patagonia Women's Torrentshell Jacket.

Not sure if the last two paragraphs were necessary, but I'd rather give you too much info than not enough.

If anyone has any recommendations, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

There are a few points on which everyone will agree.