Topic

Clothing System

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Paul Davis

@fauxrealz

Locale: East Coast

I'm fairly new to backpacking and am very interested in what you might consider a good clothing system. I'm not worried about weight for the clothes that I'll be wearing, but I'd like to keep the packed weight under 2.5 pounds. Not that it would be difficult to do. Just looking for pointers.

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA

Paul,

Where will you be hiking? Constant rain? Snow? Temperature range?

Answers to these will help us give the best advice!

Todd

Paul Davis

@fauxrealz

Locale: East Coast

I guess I just forgot some important information.

I'm trying to compile a closet of a good go-to three season wardrobe. Assume summer highs and night time lows around freezing.

I understand that this might not give much more info, but I'm planning on completing a thru hike next spring/ summer and conditions over a time span like this are not exactly predictable or steady.

Thanks again

Don Jones
    BPL Member

@djfrogg

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Paul, your use of the word system suggests that you are interesting in "layering systems" The best article on this subject I know about is the following:

http://www.highcountryexplorations.com/Fine_Art_of_Layering.html

This article is quite detailed and comprehensive (I know because I wrote it). This URL directs you to a preview of a 17 page MSWord article sold ($1.25) in my webstore. Send me a personal email off this site and I will send you the full article free. Suggestion: read this article and others about layering and then create a new post with more specific questions.

Sherpa Don

Don Jones
    BPL Member

@djfrogg

Paul, here is another highly detailed artlcle on layering and clothing systems by a regular BPL contributor: Mark Verber.