Topic

My Current Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists My Current Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Jason McSpadden
    BPL Member

@jbmcsr1

Locale: Rocky Mountains

I've been backpacking for 40 years. I've always loved it but I've always carried too much stuff. In about 1997 at the Chinook Book Stores in Colorado Springs, I came across Ray Jardine's Book The Pacific Crest Trail Hikers Handbook and things began to change. This forum has also made a big difference in my enjoyment of backpacking. And helping me with my equipment choices.

Below is my current equipment list that used this summer on 5 trips. The Snow Peak mug/lid I've only used once but before that I used a Kmart Grease Pot and Caldera Cone set up. The items that I didn't use on my list this summer are: Down jacket (except as a pillow), wooden matches (they are a backup), extra socks (I was able to avoid too many bogs and mud pits this year), First aid kit, and bandanna.

I know that a few items could be lighter. For example the tarp is palatial but offered great coverage for some storms. This is my first year with the Golite quilt but it is much lighter than my Ray Way synthetic quilt. The windbreaker and down jacket are XLT in size and fit great.

I also know that there is nothing earth shattering on this list but I just wanted to share what has been working for me in the Colorado Rockies this summer. And if you had any suggestions for improvements and modifications.

Clothing/Equipment Worn:

Pants Golite Yunnan 11.00 

Belt 2.5
    Long Sleeve Thermax top w/zipper 9.7

Underwear 2.7

Socks 2 pair – nylon 2.8
    Running Shoes—New Balance Sz. 13 20.0

REI Safari Hat 3.7

Komperdell C-3 Poles 14.4

Eyeglasses/Sunglasses 1.2

Watch/compass on wristband
    68 ozs. ( 4.25 lbs.)

Packing:
    Pack—MYOG Ray Way 12