Topic

Fly/ Bubble fishing

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Fly/ Bubble fishing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Chris Melhuish

@ckm554

Hi, I'm new to fishing and I want a simple cheap setup for sierra fishing in lakes (mostly backcountry) and an occasional stream…I understand the "fly and bubble" method is good but have no idea what equipment is necessary. What kind of rod/reel would I need for the bubble and fly fishing (link would be great ).As you can see I don't know much about fishing equipment and there are so many types of rods out there its hard to find what you need…….. Thanks!

Paul Gibson

@pgibson

Locale: SW Idaho

Hey Chris, I have been playing with the fly and bubble game a bit this year with great success here in Idaho. You really don't need anything special to make it work. Any rod and reel combo will get it done. If yo are not looking for a super compact rod then hit walmart for a $20 set, they have some bubbles as well. I like the kind that have a bit of silicone tube inside that twist into place. Looks like this:

Bubble

Then a few dry flies and a few wet ones and you are set. I rig it up kind of like this but ship the swivel to make it a little easier to set up and take down.

set up

Here is a little brook I took out of a lake a couple weeks ago with this set up and a black woolly bugger.brook

You can find colapsable or short section rods a fishing stores and out door stores like Cabelas or sportsman's warehouse for reasonable (20-50 bucks) and then just find a small reel. I picked up a small Shakespeare reel for under 20 that is only about 3.5 oz.

Curt Peterson
    BPL Member

@curtpeterson

Locale: Pacific Northwest