Topic

Bear problems on PCT between Stevens and Snoqualmie Passes?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Bear problems on PCT between Stevens and Snoqualmie Passes?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I’m getting ready to hike the PCT from Stevens Pass to Snoqualmie Pass and am wondering if anyone has info on bear hassles with food. I am from the Seattle area but most of my experience is on very lightly travelled routes where bears are not a problem. This is my first time on a route as heavily travelled as the PCT and I’d like to be prepared. Any info greatly appreciated.

Scott Toraason

@kimot2

Tom, I’ve done parts of the PCT between Stevens Pass and Snoqualmie Pass and in late July was at Surprise and Trap Lakes and off trail to Thunder Mountain Lakes which is between Trap and Square Lakes. There are black bears in the central cascades and God knows there may even be a lost brown bear somewhere, but I haven’t read of any reported “problems” on nwhikers.net, (well there was one but that was in a different part of the state and campers just left their food out all night and the following morning a bear walked into camp and helped himself.) Despite that and especially with precautions, and I’m not talking a bear canister here, regarding food storage and preparation which I’m sure you are very familiar with, I can’t imagine any problems. Virtually all bear sightings on nwhikers.net are hikers going this-a-way and bears going that-a-way. That has been my personal experience as well in Washington State. However should you or any of your party be eaten or injured by bears I warned you to carry a 12 gauge shotgun. PS, You could go to Seattle REI and pick up some Counter Assault for some peace of mind. Have a great trip!

Anonymous
    Inactive