Topic

BPL Titanium Wing-esbit

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) BPL Titanium Wing-esbit

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Johnny Gish
    Spectator

@jtgish

Locale: Colorado

I just got my new stove in the mail and the thing is tiny. I had to go buy the SnowPeak Trek 700 because my Trek 900 was not very stable and did not really fit, oh well shaved a few ounces off. Anyways, I had a couple questions. First, should I be putting anything (foil) in the esbit holder before putting my esbit tab in? Secondly, it says the tabs can be put out and reused but how does one go about putting out a 1400 degree flame? These may be basic questions but its my first time using an esbit stove. Thanks everyone.
    JT Gish

Al Shaver
    BPL Member

@al_t-tude

Locale: High Sierra and CA Central Coast

JT,
    It’s fine to put fuel tab directly into holder. I extinguish the flame by blowing forcefully on it. If you prefer you can dump the tab into a small piece of foil and seal the foil around it. The first method is easier and lighter. Use of an aluminum foil windscreen is essential to get performance out of this stove. It’s very sensitive to wind. I’ve used the old style 1oz steel version alot and love it.

As long as your stove is superlight, why not ditch that heavy duty Ti pot and swith to Dr.J’s idea of the Foster’s Beer can pot. It provides 22floz/650ml of useable volume and weighs .85oz/24gm with aluminum foil lid. It fits my steel stove fine. It doesn’t fit the Ti version but BPL posters have informed me that your stove can be bent to fit this pot.

My snowpeak Ti pot of similar size weighs 3.1oz even after you lose the 2.2oz Ti lid and replace it with a light aluminum flashing lid.

Kim Skaarup

@skaarup

Locale: Cold, wet and windy Scandinavia