Topic

Hiking Poles – How Do I?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Philosophy & Technique Hiking Poles – How Do I?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Scott Ashdown

@waterloggedwellies

Locale: United Kingdom

I have never used hiking poles before. I always just thought to myself, ‘They will get in the way – become an annoyance.’ I have therefore walked many a mile without them. However, there is no doubt that that many people who are into lightweight backpacking really find them useful and I am begining to wonder, would I find them useful too?

I am therefore tempted to give them ago. I use a tent at the moment, not a tarp.

I have two questions. Firstly – What height should a hiking pole be? I know this varies with individual height but should it be level with my out stretched arm, higher, lower than this, waist height or is there no optimum height and it’s just preference. Secondly, is there a particular method of using the poles. I.e. is it as natural as walking with two sticks in your hand or does it take practice. How, will I know if i’m transferring some of the weight of my pack for example to my arms (Which is one of the benefits I often read about), how will I know if they’re actually doing some good as opposed to me just imagining it or will the results be obvious???

Basic questions I know but would appreciate some tips!

Scott

david chan

@davidc-1

Scott Ashdown

@waterloggedwellies

David, thanks for the link. It certainly gave me some useful information. Haven’t been able to get out to a store yet to try some actual hiking poles but managed to to swing a broom handle around in the back yard for five minutes. Whilst it’s difficult to say by using a broom, it feels like a pole length that is equivalent of the distance from floor to elbow seems about right. What do others think?

Ken Helwig