Topic

Bush Buddy Ultra as Alcohol Stove /Esbit/ Campfire?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Multiple Use Gear Bush Buddy Ultra as Alcohol Stove /Esbit/ Campfire?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Edward Z
    BPL Member

@fuzz

Locale: Sunny San Diego

Ok, newbie here. Can my new to me bushbuddy ultra be used well with alcohol (trail designs stove) and Esbit tabs, and as a comfort fire in small quantities? I bought it, and now a Snowpeak 900 set for that reason and I'm doubting my purchase. From youtube it looks pretty versatile. But is it that easy? And is sparkng wth my scout Jr instead of a lighter that easy really? Looking for reassurance more than anything. I have a jetboil, a caldera cone system for the snowpeak 700, and now the snowpeak 900 plus bushbuddy and combine all methods. Was I smart? Advise me, suggest things, teach……… lol.

Jeff K
    Spectator

@jeff-k

Locale: New York

Not exactly answering your question, but I have had a mini -campfire in the Ti-Tri for the MLD 850 pot. On my trip I had way to many Esbit tabs, so I put two tabs in the graham cracker and enjoyed a little ambiance.

It worked just fine.

Jeff Antig

@antig

Locale: Pacific Northwest

bbu

BER —
    BPL Member

@ber

Locale: Wisconsin

The bush buddy can burn alcohol without an additional stove if desired. Works best if you put a disk the size of the BB fire grate in the bottom to limit the burn rate.

Discussed further here:

http://www.hammockforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=19745