Topic

Hello! Newbie first post here!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Hello! Newbie first post here!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Mike Foster

@backtrack

Locale: Houston Burbs

Hi. I'm new to the backpacking scene (logged about 45 miles in two over night trips over two years). Just wanted to introduce my presence here and say hi! My last trip was a solo 28 mile adventure @ Good Water Loop Trail near Austin, TX.

I had purchased a new pack Deuter ACT lite 65+10. I got the load down to 45 lbs about the weight limit of the pack. I thought this was going to be much better than my last trip at Hill Country SNA where my 50 pound Mountainsmith pack was over-loaded by 15 pounds! The hills were brutal. Boy was I wrong, 45 pounds still sucked! I joyfully felt every gram of water weight disappear from my Deuter as I trudged onward and upward to make my camp by nightfall.