Topic

Water in the Los Padres NF?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Water in the Los Padres NF?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Tim Gerla

@tybstar

I'm new to backpacking but I want to take a quick overnight trip up to the southern part of the Los Padres National Forest near Santa Barbara, and I'm wondering what the water situation will look like. Maybe these are really newbie questions, but how does one find out if there will be live streams there for water, etc? I know it's the dry season, but can I count on the creeks/rivers on the maps to at least have some moisture?

Or am I taking the wrong approach to this problem?

Thanks! Also, suggestions for first-timer overnight trips in this neck of the woods would be appreciated! I'm an experienced car camper but haven't packed it all in yet.

Diane “Piper” Soini
    BPL Member

@sbhikes

Locale: Santa Barbara

I live there. You might try my web site, Santa Barbara Hikes (google it.) Some people have been there recently.

They don't maintain the trails very well in the Los Padres. This affects your ability to go in very far.

A good first-timer overnight is to hike the Manzana Trail, which is a well-maintained trail. You can go upstream out of NIRA campground toward the Narrows or downstream toward the Schoolhouse. Both are nice trips.

Both are along Manzana creek and it will have enough water for you. There may be dry spots this late in the year, but it's been a good year for water so you should not find yourself without water.