Topic

Pocket Rocket Adapter

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Pocket Rocket Adapter

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    John Wu

@bronxking

Hi,

I just came back from the “100 Miles of Wilderness” on the AT and I met a thru hiker who devised an adapter for his MSR Pocket Rocket to a Coleman canister. I just somehow remember him telling me about using the tip of a torch gun somehow shaving off bits of metal to fit it onto the pocket rocket. I’m not that tech savvy, but anyone really know how this would work? Thanks

-John

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest

I hate to rain on your parade, but when people start doing backyard adaptations on pressurized flammables, I wanna put my hands over my ears and sing “LALALALALA…” Go hike and have fun and don’t blow yourself up!

Mike Barney

@eaglemb

Locale: AZ, the Great Southwest!

We had a similar thought several months ago, and had a machinist look at it. He did, came back and said don’t. Reasons given were likely having to shave too much metal off to get the adapter to fit might weaken it too much, issue of gas vs liquid feed, and potential liability issues.

There’s some pretty creative people here who might be able to tinker and get an ultralight safe version to work (Bill F. you there?), but the existing steel canisters don’t weigh that much for what you use.

(FYI we boiled water for 10 trekkers for 10 days @ 1 cooked meal per day on two one lb steel canisters)

Who knows, maybe Coleman will make a Pocket Rocket equivalent ultralight weight version.

Regards,
    MikeB

Bill Fornshell
    BPL Member

@bfornshell

Locale: Southern Texas