Topic

How do you finish your quilt edges?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear How do you finish your quilt edges?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Philip Maynard
    Spectator

@autoxfil

I'm debating this for a 2.5oz Climashield quilt w/ 1.1oz ripstop shell.

I've debated just about every possibility from the complex and ornate to just running one row and letting it all hang out. I have no experience with either of these materials – how careful do you have to be with them around the hems?

Matt Mahaney
    BPL Member

@matt_mahaney

Locale: In the District

I typically sew the quilt inside out around 3 of the four edges. Then I pull it through the open edge to turn it right side out and add a draw cord channel over the last open edge. Pretty simple. If you use this method, make sure place the outside 1.1 pieces together with the Clima on top to sew. Tim may chime in with a better description. He's the quilt man.

Philip Maynard
    Spectator

@autoxfil

I had considered that, but had two concerns:

Would the sewing machine foot snag the climashield, or it is tough enough to take that without tearing/catching?

When I flip it inside out, will the climashield folded over at the edge create a bulky seam? I suppose this depends on the seam allowance, and the 2.5oz Climashield is so thin it probably won't bulk up, huh?

My other thought was to sew just the nylon together, flip it inside out, and slide the climashield in. Then, sew a line a couple inches from the edge to quilt the insulation in place. This would create less of a stiff edge at the expense of some more work and that dead spot around the edge.

On the other hand, this is a trial quilt made from cheap materials so maybe I don't need to over-complicate things if the very basic sew-all-three-and-flip method works.

Vick Hines