Topic

Cuben Backpack

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Cuben Backpack

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    John Roan
    BPL Member

@jroan

Locale: Vegas

I thought I would share my latest project. While I've made several packs in the past, this is my first time working with Cuben Fiber. I purchased 1 yard of the 1.5oz sq/yd, 54" wide material with the plan of making a pack worthy of a through hike. Here's how it turned out…

Here is how I planned to cut the cuben material;J3 cut sheet

My previous packs were of similar design and weight. The large outside pocket is one of my favorite features, but I tend to find myself digging through it to find what I'm looking for. On this design, I decided to make two shorter pockets instead. They are equally sized, and each are large enough to fit a wet tarp or single walled tent.J3 rear

The strap side of the packJ3 straps

Side view showing how the pack fits. The shock cord that closes the rear pockets also holds tall items protruding from the side pockets, such as trekking poles or 3 liter water bladders.J3 left posing

Specs:
    total capacity 3035 ci
    main pack 2325 ci
    rear pockets 269 ci each
    side pockets 86 ci each

Total weight 4.9 oz

I'm very happy with how this pack turned out. Now it's time to get out and use it!

Happy Trails…
    John

Phil O’Connor

@philoconnor

Locale: Oh ya know

That looks great, awesome job.

So you exclusively sewed all the seems together or did you use tape/glue/etc?

Chris Peichel

@momo

Locale: Eureka

your pack turned out great, I like the idea of the two back pockets.
    great job!

Javan Dempsey

@jdempsey

Locale: The-Stateless-Society

Yeah I dig the dual pockets also. Good work.

John Roan
    BPL Member

@jroan