Topic

Sewing machine advice?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Sewing machine advice?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    tyler marlow

@like-sisyphus

Locale: UTAH

I am totally new to sewing and am in the market for a sewing machine. So I did a little research and found this:

http://www.amazon.com/Brother-XR-65T-Sewing-Machine-Quilting/dp/B0007WIE2M/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1280463499&sr=1-8

it seems like the quilting table would be absolutely perfect for MYOG but I don't know anything about the other features.
    From what I've read most any sewing machine will work but are there any features I should look out for?

Oh and the best part about this machine is it's only $50 new!

James D Buch
    BPL Member

@rocketman

Locale: Midwest

It looks to me to have a very small "throat" area, the area between the needle and the right hand support.

Sometimes, one has to rotate the work and end up pushing a lot of material through the throat. Under those conditions, a long throat area is quite desired. It is hard to guess just how big that area is from this photo.

When I looked at the Amazon page, there were illustrations of industrial sewing machines for garments below it. These machines had long deep throats, and were pricey.

The user review of the item was pretty strongly negative – just two stars.

You can download the user manual here:

http://www.devicemanuals.com/guide/Sewing%20Machine/Brother/Brother-Xr-65t-Sewing-Machine-Owner%27s-Manual-T0RNeE9EVT.html

Tohru Ohnuki

@erdferkel

Locale: S. California