Topic

Newbie: Spider Gap-Lyman Lakes-Buck Creek Pass, full gear lis

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie: Spider Gap-Lyman Lakes-Buck Creek Pass, full gear lis

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Derek Schutt

@derek_fc

Locale: Northern Colorado Front Range

Background: This is my first attempt to transition to UL. I'm heading out in 2 days, so I'd love comments in two forms: 1) what I could change in the last minute; 2) what I can address at a later date.

Destination: North Cascades, WA, see subject for loop
    Time: 5 days
    Distance: ~45 miles
    Expected temperatures: 40-85F
    Highest Elevation: about 7000 ft.
    Time Span: Aug. 1-7
    # of people: 2
    Other: Expected snowfield traverse at Spider Gap. Will bring ice axe and make decision whether to carry it at the trailhead.

Tent/Sleeping/Backpack

Tent, Tarptent Rainshadow 2, 58.6 oz
    Sleeping bag, Golite Ultralite 3 season, 26 oz.
    Sleeping Pad, Big Agnes Insulated Air Core, 19.5 oz.
    Backpack, Summit 5000, 84 oz.
    Subtotal: 188.1 oz = 11.76 lb

Worn Clothes

Boots, Lowa GTX Renegade, 47 oz
    Socks, smartwool heavyweight, 4 oz
    Pants, nylon convertable, 13.6 oz
    underwear, 5.4 oz
    Subtotal: 75.9 oz = 4.74 lb

Carried Clothes

Socks, smartwool heavyweight, 4 oz
    long sleeve shirt, nylon, 7.3 oz
    long underwear bottom, midweight, 9.5 oz
    long underwear bottom, lightweight, 8.2 oz
    fleece pullover, 16 oz
    rain top, North Face Hurricane, 6.5 oz
    rain pants, North Face Hurricane, 8.5 oz
    fleece hat, 2 oz
    fleece mittens, 2 oz
    glove liners, 1.4 oz
    baseball hat 2.6 oz
    stuffsack for clothes, 4 oz
    subtotal: 65.4 oz = 4.09 lbs

Cooking/Food

bear rope, 50', 2.3 oz
    stuff sack for food, 2.2 oz
    stove, will be carried by partner, 0 oz