Topic

Newbie: Spider Gap-Lyman Lakes-Buck Creek Pass, clothing list

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie: Spider Gap-Lyman Lakes-Buck Creek Pass, clothing list

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Derek Schutt

@derek_fc

Locale: Northern Colorado Front Range

Background: This is my first attempt to transition to UL. I want to be a little conservative, but I think I am overdoing it a little. Also, note I backpack like this about once every 3 years, so I'm a little rusty. I'll post the full gear list later, but would like to get your opinions on the clothing. In particular, I'm thinking about dropping the fleece, but because my rain gear is not breathable, I am worried about getting a day or two of constant rain and my down jacket getting wet. Perhaps I should ditch the down jacket? Although it would be great in camp.

Destination: North Cascades, WA, see subject for loop
    Time: 5 days
    Distance: ~45 miles
    Expected temperatures: 40-85F (any opinions on this)
    Highest Elevation: about 6000 ft.
    Time Span: Aug. 1-7
    Other: Expected snowfield traverse at Spider Gap

Worn Clothes

Boots, Lowa GTX Renegade, 47 oz
    socks, smartwool heavyweight, 4 oz
    pants, REI nylon convertable, 13.6
    underwear, to be purchased, 5 oz?
    top, lightweight nylon shortsleeve, 5.9 oz

Total Worn: 75.5 oz = 4.72 lbs

Other Clothes

extra pair socks, smartwool heavyweight, 4 oz
    long sleeve shirt, nylong, 7.3 oz
    long underwear bottoms, midweight, 9.5 oz
    long underwear top, lightweight, 8.2 oz
    fleece, (300 wt?), 16 oz
    down jacket, (old and beat-up), 17.1 oz
    rain top, North Face unknown name, 6.5 oz
    rain pants, to be purchased
    fleece hat, 2 oz
    glove liners, 1.4 oz
    fleece mittens, 2 oz
    baseball hat, 2.6 oz
    stuff sack for clothes, 4 oz