Topic

time to develop plantar fasciitis?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion time to develop plantar fasciitis?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Dont Wantto

@longhiker

Can someone tell how long and intense a hiking / training schedule can develop plantar fasciitis from completely healthy feet?

I've been training for about a month for my CT hike.. mostly hiking on a treadmill for 50 – 90 minutes, set to 15% slope with a 30 lb backpack on me. (That's a climb of 1800 – 2800 feet usually.. and about 3 – 4 miles). I've been doing this 4 – 5 times a week for about a month.

I've developed a mild discomfort / pain in some tissue underneath my left foot.. it is close to the outer lower edge of the arch. I've had this since the first week I started training but it didn't really bother me.. would take a day break and wouldn't feel it on my next workout until minute 70 or 80. Might feel it more when I'm at home or in the morning… (i know that's always metioned on every website about plantar fasciitis but I'm hoping many injuries can do that)

Could I really develop plantar fasciitis in a month? I am to leave on my hike in 5 days.. :(

Any particular relaxing pose to take for the next 5 days? I can lie in bed and stretch all day if that's what it takes.. been trying rolling the foot on a cylinder and such.. please help with any info if you can!

Edit: I'm 27, 5'11" and about 140 lbs.. not exactly overweight.

Jay Wilkerson
    BPL Member

@creachen

Locale: East Bay