Topic

Tenkara for someone new to fly fishing?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Tenkara for someone new to fly fishing?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Simon Weiss
    BPL Member

@simongtr

Locale: Bay Area

I've never fly-fished, other than whipping around a rod about 12 years ago, with no understanding of what I was doing.

At this point I'm interested in learning to fly fish, and I like the idea of the lightness and simplicity of Tenkara. I'd like to minimize the financial output (though understanding I'll need a rod plus some kit).

What are thoughts on kit for a total novice with an interest in backpacking? I want the setup to be useful for larger streams as well – should I go with a typical length, ~11 or 12'?

How does one learn the technique? I live in the Bay Area and I know there are places to take lessons, but most (if not all) are for traditional (reel) fly fishing. Any suggestions?

I'm looking at rods here: http://www.allfishingbuy.com/Tenkara-Rods.htm
    as an inexpensive way to try out the sport/gear.

I wish I know people already involved in the sport! Thanks for your help.

Tohru Ohnuki

@erdferkel

Locale: S. California

TenkaraUSA is in San Francisco, you might want to contact them about local lessons, outings etc. I would ask over on their forums for advice and meetups:
    http://www.tenkarausa.com/

Jason Klass
    BPL Member

@jasonklass

Locale: Colorado

Hi Simon,
    In choosing a Tenakra rod, your skill level matters less than the type of fishing you'll be doing. All the Tenkara USA rods are easy to learn to cast. But what kind of fishing are you doing? Small streams with smaller fish? Larger streams with larger fish? Can we assume you're going after trout?

Simon Weiss
    BPL Member

@simongtr

Hi Jason,