Topic

Quilt Sizing

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Quilt Sizing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Steve Small

@lustreking

I'm planning on making a down summer quilt, probably close to this design. I've never used a quilt before, so I don't know how to go about sizing it for me.

Are there any guides or guidelines for sizing a quilt with a drawstring footbox?

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

Locale: Southeastern Texas

Steve,

http://enlightenedequipment.com/sizing.htm

There is also a quilt weight calculator spreadsheet on this same site.

Party On,

Newton

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota

If after checking out my site (listed above) you have any more questions just let me know. Even though i make quilts i always love to help people make their own.

-Tim

Steve Small

@lustreking

Hi Tim,

I actually did check out your page on quilt sizing (also played with your spreadsheet), but assumed that your recommendations were for a finished quilt size. I'm not sure how much length is lost when you gather the foot with a drawstring.

Any thoughts?

-Steve

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

i think my site covers that also.

I add 4" to user height for synthetic and 6" for down. i add 2" to my dims for seams (1" seam allowance) but sew at 1/2"- 3/4"(1/2" for down 3/4" for synthetic) to assure that i am always bigger than i need to be.

-Tim

Javan Dempsey

@jdempsey

Locale: The-Stateless-Society

If you use baffle heights that are shorter than loft heights, remember to factor in linear shrinkage! For instance, a sew thru quilt with 1.75" loft will lose 6-10" depending on length.