Topic

Newbie – What Gear Do I Need?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie – What Gear Do I Need?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Luke Tingley

@tingleyl

Locale: Midwest

I'm a newbie to overnight backpacking. I've done lots of day trips, but my primary reason for hiking is photography, and I'm tired of starting out at 2:00 a.m. so I can be somewhere for sunrise.

Planning my first trip for the Olympic Peninsula in mid-Sept.

Any gear lists for a newbie on that type of trip? I'm just now buying my initial equipment.

So far my newly purchased items include:
    Osprey Argon 85 Pack
    MSR Hubba Hubba HP Tent
    Western Mountaineering Megalite

Things I still think I need:
    Sleeping pad
    Cooking system
    Rope
    Bear Canister

I obviously still have to research the remaining item, but any areas I may not have thought of?

Thanks!

William Johnson

@steamboat_willie

Luke, as a quick note you have purchased a backpack that weighs more than 6 pounds, and a tent made for 2 (that costs between $400-$500.)

This is Backpackinglight, and the forums are LOADED with lighter, cheaper alternatives. Many members here are also photographers, and can give you sagely advice on how best to carry your heavy loads. Hopefully one will chime in.

If they are new purchases, and you can easily return them, then do so as you still have time before September. :)

Looking through the "Reader Review" section can get you started on high volume, internally framed packs, and two-person tents if that is what you are up for.

In case no one gets back to you, check out ULA-Equipment, and Tarptent.com for some larger internally framed packs, and 2-person tents. This'll get you started, as well.

Good luck!

Andy F
    Spectator

@andyf

Locale: Midwest/Midatlantic